On field officials for the most part do a pretty good job keeping themselves out of the way throughout the course of a game, except for last night.
During the 9th inning of the ALCS between the Red Sox and Tigers, Detroit catcher Brayan Pena had to hustle over to third base when Will Middlebrooks made the attempt to take the bag on a routine ground ball. However even though Prince Fielder’s throw across the diamond beat Middlebrooks, Pena’s tag was disrupted by the third base umpire who was literally on top of the base.
Not that the play itself mattered all that much. Boston went on to win the game still 4-3 while Detroit will do everything they can to block the Red Sox’ chances to get to the World Series in Game’s 6 and 7 back at Fenway.
h/t: The Big Lead