Australia’s Cadel Evans win the Tour de France


Australia finally has a tour winner.

Cadel Evans won the Tour de France Sunday become the first Aussie to win cycling’s most prestigious title.

Evans was able to finish in the main pack at the end of the largely ceremonial final stage. At this point he all but locked up the title with his ride in the time trial in Grenoble a day earlier.

Finishing second to Evans was Andy Schleck of Luxembourg with his brother Frank Schleck coming in third.

At 34 years of age, Evans becomes the oldest winner of the Tour since World War II narrowly edging out Gino Bartali of Italy—who was also 34 but slightly younger—when he won in 1948.  The all-time oldest Tour winner was 36-year-old Firmin Lambot of Belgium — in 1922.

Source: Associated Press

About Adam Hernandez

Adam Hernandez is the founder The Majors Sports Network.

Recommended for you

You must be logged in to post a comment Login